SB 1118 Voted Down – May be Reconsidered

Thursday, August 14, 2008
Airport land-use bill rejected; S.B. County, some Inland lawmakers opposed it
The Riverside (CA) Press-Enterprise

SACRAMENTO – An Inland lawmaker’s bill intended to improve safety around airports failed in the Assembly on Thursday, as Inland lawmakers divided over the measure. The measure by state Sen. Gloria Negrete McCleod, D-Chino, would require every county to create an airport land-use commission to oversee development around airports. San Bernardino County is one of several counties that do not have the such panels. Introduced in January, the bill came a week after two planes collided near Corona Municipal Airport, killing four in the crash and one on the ground.

A month later, three people died when a plane crashed onto a residential street near Riverside Municipal Airport.

“How many accidents have happened since this bill first started?” Negrete McLeod asked after the bill fell 14 votes short in the Assembly. “We’re looking out for people’s safety.”

Pilot groups backed the measure. But San Bernardino County and other opponents questioned whether countywide oversight would be an improvement over city land-use panels. San Bernardino County estimated that a countywide commission would cost $600,000.

The bill will be reconsidered in the coming days.

Assemblyman John J. Benoit, a licensed pilot, managed the bill in the Assembly and was the only Inland lawmaker to vote for it. He said county panels would take a big-picture view of land-use around airports.

But Benoit, R-Bermuda Dunes, said he sees little connection between this year’s Riverside County crashes and the bill’s provisions. Riverside County already has an airport land-use commission.

“Those are just crashes among a few that occur in and around airports,” he said.

How the Legislators voted.

MEASURE:     SB 1118
AUTHOR:      Negrete McLeod
TOPIC:       Airports: airport land use commissions.
DATE:        08/14/2008
MOTION:      SB 1118 Negrete McLeod  Senate Third Reading  By BENOIT
             (AYES  27. NOES  25.)  (FAIL)
Aghazarian         Benoit            Berg        Blakeslee
De La Torre        DeVore            Dymally           Evans
Furutani           Gaines            Hancock           Hayashi
Hernandez          Horton            Karnette          La Malfa
Leno               Levine            Lieber            Ma
Niello             Nunez             Price             Saldana
Villines           Wolk        Bass
Adams        Anderson          Arambula          Beall
Caballero    Coto               Duvall           Emmerson
Feuer        Fuentes           Fuller            Garcia
Houston     Huff              Keene             Laird
Maze         Mullin            Nava        Parra
Silva        Smyth             Spitzer           Tran
Berryhill          Brownley          Charles Calderon        Carter
Cook         Davis             De Leon           DeSaulnier
Eng          Galgiani          Garrick           Huffman
Jeffries           Jones             Krekorian         Lieu
Mendoza            Nakanishi         Plescia           Portantino
Sharon Runner      Ruskin            Salas             Solorio
Soto         Strickland        Swanson           Torrico

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.